The LAC is Reopening!
Starting on Monday, July 6, 2020 you can once again get help in person at the Legal Assistance Center. Initially, open hours will be limited to 10 am to 2 pm from Monday to Friday.

For your safety and the safety of our staff and volunteers, you will be required to wear a mask or face covering to enter the courthouse and to get help at the LAC. To promote social distancing we will be limiting the number of people in the LAC.

If you are not feeling well, have a fever, or have been exposed to someone who has or may have COVID-19, please stay home and be well. You can still get help by phone by calling 616-632-6000. You will be asked to leave a message and we will return your call as soon as we can.
Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

Richard E. Hillary, II, President
Miller Johnson

Pam Hove, Vice President
Process Design Leader

Craig Paull, Treasurer
Assistant Corporate Counsel
Kent County

Ross D. Plont, Secretary
Newton Plont

T.J. Ackert
17th Circuit Court/Probate Court

Hilary Curtis Arthur
Court Administrator/Magistrate
63rd District Court

Tania A. DeVries
Senior Fiduciary Advisor
Hawthorn PNC Bank

Michael J. Distel
61st District Court

Steffany J. Dunker
Senior Counsel
Spectrum Health

Jill B. Ferris, CPA

Pam Hoekwater
Executive Director
Legal Aid of Western Michigan

Martha W. Irwin
Kent County Probate Register

John D. Kmetz
Judicial Referee
17th Circuit Court, Family Division

Brian A. Molde
Sinas Dramis

Juan Salazar
Executive Director, Retired
Legal Aid of Western Michigan

Traci Schenkel
Assistant Friend of the Court
Kent County Friend of the Court

Elizabeth Wells Skaggs
Varnum LLP

Bill Wittland
Vox Strategic

Jessica L. Wood
Dickinson Wright

Non-Voting Member:
Kimberly A. Coleman
Executive Director
Grand Rapids Bar Association